COGA Summit Awards

And the Winner is…

We honor distinguished members of our industry with the Annual COGA Summit Awards. These awards acknowledge outstanding achievement within and dedication to our industry and COGA. Winners are announced by August 1st and awarded during the conference week.

See Summit Award winners from previous years below, and if you know of someone you thinks should be nominated, please fill out and submit the form below.

Nomination Form >>

Fred Julander Lifetime Achievement Award

The Fred Julander Lifetime Achievement Award honors an individual who has performed outstanding service and achieved noteworthy accomplishments over the course of their career in Colorado’s oil and gas industry. This individual’s exceptional devotion of time, effort, thought, and action serves as an inspiration throughout the industry. Fred Julander was one of the original founders of the Colorado Oil & Gas Association and was the founder of the Rocky Mountain Natural Gas Conference which eventually became The Energy Summit conference. Fred was the first-ever recipient of COGA’s Lifetime Achievement Award, which was changed in 2018 to the Fred Julander Lifetime Achievement Award in his honor. His legacy of great work in our industry will never be forgotten.

2018 Award Winner: Peter Dea

This award honors Peter Dea’s outstanding and noteworthy accomplishments over a 35+ year career in the oil and gas industry. In addition to his service to the industry, Dea has demonstrated a commitment to Colorado, holding leadership roles in several academic and cultural institutions and enriching communities throughout the state. COGA is delighted to recognize Peter’s remarkable achievements and dedication to Colorado.

Past Award Winners

2014 Inaugural Honoree: Fred C. Julander

2015 Honoree: Pete Stark

2016 Honoree: Howard Boigon

2017 Honoree: Ken Wonstolen

Industry Advocate Award

This award recognizes an individual who has shown outstanding personal dedication and commitment to proactive advocacy on behalf of the oil and gas industry. Going above and beyond all expectations, this individual is engaged in public education, community engagement, and meaningful dialogue about responsible energy development in Colorado. This individual may be employed by the industry or may advocate on our behalf as an ally.

2018 Award Winner: Peter Moore

This award honors Peter Moore, Board Chairman and CEO of Vital for Colorado. Vital for Colorado is a pro-business organization founded on the principal that “a thriving oil and natural gas sector is key to the future economic prosperity of Colorado.” Through his leadership, the organization is now a diverse coalition of over 85,000 individuals and organizations spanning multiple industries and sectors. As a result of Vital’s efforts, Coloradans have access to credible, fact-based resources that demonstrate the value of the oil and natural gas industry in our state.

Past Award Winners

2014 Inaugural Honoree: Dave Brown

2015 Honoree: Ted Brown

2016 Honoree: Susan Alvillar

2017 Honoree: Chris Wright

Emerging Leader Award

This award recognizes the outstanding achievement of an emerging leader within industry. This individual will have already made significant contributions to the industry and have demonstrated the potential for leadership, dedication, and innovation. All nominees must be under 35 years of age.

2018 Award Winner: Heidi Gill

This award honors Heidi Gill, an entrepreneur committed to innovation in the oil and natural gas industry in Colorado. Gill founded the Urban Solution Group with intent of “bridging the gap between oil and natural gas development and social compatibility.” Over the past year, Urban Solution has raised $10 million in capital to develop sound walls that meet the needs of industry and the communities that we serve.

Past Award Winners

2014 Inaugural Honoree: Sarah Bartlett

2015 Honoree: Sarah Derdowski

2016 Honoree: Matt Owens

2017 Honoree: Craig McMillin

If you know of someone fitting these criteria, please complete this nomination form by July 1, 2019. Final selection will be approved by COGA’s Conference Steering Committee.